Photo Blog

I love the idea of photo blogs. I have been searching high and low for a web 2.0 or iPad app that would do what I wanted it to do.

At least everyone has one friend on the social media networks that is attempting to do some kind of photo challenge. Well I love this idea. I thought why not be able to integrate it into school, a good way for the parents and other teachers to be able to see what their kids are up to at school.

The site and app I have found that is great for this is called Tumblr. It allows you to post Text, Photos, Links, Quotes, Audio and video.

Each student has the possibility to follow and reblog work that other classmates have done. I guess you would have to try and have some control over the content that the children post. I’d love to be able to start the project at the beginning of the year with the idea that everyday the class posts something they have learnt for the day.. not necessarily something in class. Maybe the learnt something at home or in the play ground. The options are there for the kids to write a story or take photos of work they have done in class. This would be possible if all the students had access to either the internet or an iPad/iPhone/iPod Touch and even an android phone. Maybe by the time I graduate these items will be readily available for students and an exercise like this would be possible.

I would love to be able to look back at an entire school year of work or things I’ve learnt on a website or blog. It would be a great insite in to what I was thinking about as a Primary school student.

Just something I’ve thought about. I am actually doing one using Tumblr at the moment. If you want to follow my daily posts go here.

I have not however had a great look into the security and privacy settings with this app but it is possible to have multiple blogs under one user. Maybe an idea is that the kids have their blogs under the teachers accounts.

There are a lot of things to look into before doing something like this but I’m having so much fun doing it.

 

This entry was posted in My Learning, Web2.0 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photo Blog

  1. seeka says:

    You will also notice that I have been using other apps from my iPhone to upload pictures or little animations in my photo blog. I’ve used Cinemagram to create animations, Instagram for some photos and Educreations for Xav’s drawing. I like the fact that I can use a lot of different mediums to add content to my photoblog. I really like this idea.

Leave a Reply

